Thursday, 7 November 2013

Invitation for Nominations for ICSSR-Amartya Sen Award 2013 for Distinguished Social Scientists


(Ministry of Human Resource Development, Government of India)
Aruna Asaf Ali Marg, New Delhi-110067

Indian Council of Social Science Research (ICSSR) has instituted the Amartya Sen Award for Distinguished Social Scientists from 2012. These prestigious awards are an opportunity to honour the outstanding contributions made by social science scholars towards promoting scientific knowledge in the domain of social sciences.

Following are the disciplines in which these awards are given to the Distinguished Social Scientists annually:
1. Economics
2. Commerce / Management
3. Sociology / Social Work / Social Anthropology
4. Political Science /International Studies / Public Administration
5. Geography / Demography
6. Psychology / Education
7. Legal Studies/ Human rights
8. Gender / Marginalized Groups
9. History / Archaeology
10. Philosophy / Cultural Studies

Last date to submit nominations: 31st December 2013

Eligibility Criteria: Any citizen of India/Overseas citizen of India (OCI)/Person of Indian Origin (PIO) below the age of 55 years as on 31st December 2013, engaged in research and who has made outstanding contribution-theoretical and/or empirical--towards the advancement of knowledge in any field of social sciences, is eligible for the award.

About the Award: Amartya Sen Awards are envisaged to be the distinguished award for social science research in India. The Award comprises a citation, and a cash award of Rs. 10 lakh. Each year up to ten awards will be given to the scholars who have made outstanding contribution to social science research.

The nomination must be submitted according to the specified pro-forma and guidelines available on Duly filled nominations must reach to The Member Secretary, Indian Council of Social Science Research, Aruna Asaf Ali Marg, New Delhi - 110067, latest by 31st December 2013.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Add This Floating Notification Bar To Your Blog Click Here!